Developments of technology are causing environmental problems. Some people think the solution is that everyone accepts a simpler life, while other believe that technology can solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that modern technologies can lead to some pollution problems. While some argue that the issues could be eased if individuals limited the use of automation and machinery, I believe that the issues caused by technology should also be addressed by technology. It is undeniable that limited technology usage has a direct impact on reducing the negative consequences, such as pollution, in our living surroundings. Alternatively, if people could return to the simple lifestyles that existed thirty years ago, the level of contamination caused by technology would be reduced to what it was at that time. For example, by using air-conditioning only when it is extremely hot, carbon emissions would be decreased greatly. In the same way, rare metals would be preserved if people used their electronic devices longer. Despite these arguments mentioned above, I believe that only technology can tackle the issues brought about by itself. Firstly, lots of problems, such as global warming, cannot simply be solved by making less use of technology. By contrast, it is our responsibility to develop more advanced technology as soon as possible to reverse the situation. Secondly, with the help of technology, it is possible to better understand the situation of the environment; as a result, problems can be addressed accurately and effectively. Lastly, a great number of modern products have been redeveloped through new technology to be more environmental-friendly, for example, recycled paper and biodegradable plastic. Therefore, people can continue to use them as they have in the past, but with few environmental impacts. In conclusion, although simplified lifestyles can reduce some environmental problems to some extent, it seems to me that only technology can solve the issues it causes.