Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to make vehicle drivers to take a test every year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the salad days of the millennium, the society os divided into two groups, almost equally regarding the notion that whether a driving test should be taken every year to enhance the safety on road or not. Different people have distinct mindsets. In the following paragraphs, I would shed light on both of these opinions before making a final conclusion. To begin with, there are numerous downsides to this. Firstly, it will have a negative impact on the financial stability of many households as there are some expenses related to giving a test. Secondly, it would be a kind of harassment of people because they had already passed the test once and they need to waste their precious time while giving the test again of a skill they already possess and are certified of. Moreover, it would also put an extra burden on the transportation department which could be used to address the more common causes of road accidents. On the flip side of the coin, there are some advantages to this as well. First of all, the government will get to know about the people who are not able or eligible to drive anymore and consequently will take the actions against them which could help in reducing the road accidents. For example, it is observed in many parts of the world, that senior citizens are still driving their vehicles even after a certain age when they are not allowed to. In addition, it would make the transport department more robust and provide high employment opportunities as the workload increase. In conclusion, I personally feel, due to the aforementioned facts, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Some other measures should be taken to enhance the safety on road such as increasing the minimum legal age to drive motor vehicles.