Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the advantages and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Easy and fast access to tourism has enabled individuals to visit remote regions such as the Sahara desert and the Antarctic. Even though they are hard to survive, still many people nowadays visit them more often than past. Although it has facilitated humans to gain a unique experience of remote places, it has created adverse effects on the environment and local habitats. The foremost advantage of travelling to isolated areas is that it has enabled people to have a unique experience first -hand which would not have been otherwise possible if the tourism industry had not developed. For example, fast air travel and making bookings to such areas in advance has helped travellers to gain confidence and information beforehand. In addition, Many visitors share their experiences and precautions online which come in handy for others. For instance, when one of my friends visited the Antarctic, he searched about it online and got plenty of data that helped him to have a wonderful stay. On the contrary, it has impacted the local environment and the local habitants. Visiting more and more tourists to isolated areas has increased the carbon footprint which is now becoming an issue of concern among environmentalists and scientists because of these regions' ecological sensitivity. To illustrate, now the ice over the glaciers has started melting because of global warming and local habitats such as polar bears are unable to survive in the warmer temperatures. In conclusion, it is evident that tourism has reached every corner of the world like the Antarctic and the Sahara desert. It has aided humans to access remote places in a convenient way. However, it has influenced the environment and local habitats in a negative way.