Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Recently, the discussion of kids’’ teaching and learning has aroused a wide concern among various circles, especially in the parents’ zone. Some thinks learning English is the key to prevent dying out. In contrast, some thinks ensuring the survival of local language is more important. In my opinion, both thoughts are important and should be considered and this is explained below. To begin with, learning English helps kids to build linkage with the world by communicating with people from different nations. It is obvious that English is a global language. As human has different cultures and language system, hardly can they communicate with each other. Yet, when globalization appears, the difficulty in communicating should be immediately solved. Hence, a language which is commonly used around the world should be promoted and citizens believe that it should be English as it is prevalent among Europe and Asia. Also, in the future, with more advanced techniques to overcome long geographical distance among different nations, globalization will only be exaggerated and speaking English will be more critical. If kids are lacking in the ability of speaking English, hardly can they learn cultures or knowledge from others, which result in being less competitive. In long term, children which are have no English education loses the chances to explore the world or building a wider friend zone and the risk of dying out increases. Consequently, promoting English Education in school is extremely important. On the other hand, the survival of the local language should be concerned as it symbolizes unique culture. Previously mentioned, globalization is prevalent. It seems pushing the economic development by promoting international business. Yet, everything has two side, it is also ‘killing’ some less popularized culture by replacing them. Residents in developing countries admire foreign culture and may idolize other language, such as English, as they think learning foreign languages can help them to create more opportunities to make money by exporting their products to foreigners. In order to attain a higher class, they are less willing to speak their local language or teaching their children their local language. Nevertheless, not only does each special language owns different grammar, and writing style, but also create their own vowels or tones. For example, in Chinese historical writing, words are similar as the thing they represent. The word of ‘rabbit’ in Chinese has a similar appearance as the look of a rabbit. Accordingly, every language system is unreplaceable as they hide our ancestors’ history or stories. If we do not preserve it soon by educating our youths, it disappears and leads to a tragedy. Thus, the survival of local language should also take the measure. In conclusion, both protecting local language and learning English are critical as they relate to preserving unique culture and exploring the world respectively. In the future, the policy of educating these should be soon implemented in the schools