In the future, there will be higher proportion of older people than young people in many countries. Is it positive or negative development?

Thanks to the state of the art technology in medicines, anti-aging therapies, people are being expected to have a longer life expectancy, give a rise to aging population in certain nations as well. From my own perspective, I utterly believe this phenomenon is undesirable. The first and foremost worry is the adverse impact of the decreasing proportion of competent labour force. As many senior citizens have reached retirement age while fewer young workers are pumped into labour market, constructions, manufacturing might cause the shortage of workers for physically demanding tasks. Furthermore, not only physical tasks but also mental ones elderly can perform less effective than youngsters. In details, elder staff has a tendency to make their decisions and judgments upon their long-accumulated experience, which can be conservative and lack innovation as well. With inventions of cutting-edge technology, economy can be boosted stably and greatly, otherwise those nations can lag behind others. The more serious worry is the financial burden prompted by the growing cost for social welfare but less fortune is created. The higher rate of elder people, the greater cost of pension the government has to pay for them, which pays tax on younger labour force. Consequently, younger workers have to work more hours to make more value which can lead to diminishing in their performance and quality of products. Besides that, as investment of government in healthcare system and social welfare will make younger generation face the pressure of working harder to feed thousands of useless people. To conclude, not only do nations have an aging population experience many downsides, but also they can lag behind younger population’s ones.