In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Due to the rapid growth of technology, companies launch new products often with the functions of efficiency and convenience. Thus, people will unconsciously purchase new things because it can shorten their time, or perhaps increase their quality of life. Firstly, technology might be the key to this success. Profound progress in technology has transferred the standard and content of marketing. Advertising becomes a vital method to improve sales. Advertising through popping out on the net or the buses constantly, in the meantime, the brand loyalty and imagination of a business have built in the consumer’s mind unawareness. Finally, folk is going to buy the same brand whenever they need a new one. For instance, people purchase an Apple smartphone, which will usually buy their second one with a new version and related accessories. Nonetheless, markets have become more and more competitive recently. The wild spread internet accelerates the manufacturing and delivery process. Therefore, being a pioneer is an effective way to be distinguished from other brands. Research claims that people tend to try things they have never touched, and are often attracted by innovative or creative design. Although there are some disadvantages such as some communities do not want to try new things unless they see the reviews and recommendations, or people might be annoyed by those advertisements. To sum up, it is an inevitable consequence of the internet generation. Businesses put more effort into creating new things, which matters for the long term future. Despite there being some arguments, overall I think this is a positive development and can also benefit society.