In cities and towns all over the world the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

Nowadays, urban areas around the world are suffering from traffic congestion. This is mainly because of overpopulation in the cities and a rising number of people buying vehicles, but there are some solutions. A major factor leading to the jams on the roads is a large number of citizens wanting to live in urban areas. In cities, there are many shops, schools, and places of work and because of this, people choose to move there. For example, my cousin's family used to live in the countryside, however, when their son got older, they wanted him to have more opportunities and eventually, they settled in the city. A possible solution to this issue is for a government to improve the life in the villages. It needs to industrialise it and built there more institutions. The second cause of an increasing number of transport on the streets of the towns is the mainstream to own a car. Everyone desires to have their own transport. Moreover, they use it every time they go to work. As a result, the roads are mainly filled during the hours when everyone goes to their places of work. For instance, from 6 am to 7 am and from 16 pm to 18 pm are the rush hours in London, and you can be stuck in the traffic even for 2 hours. People have to be encouraged to leave their cars behind when going to a job. Also, bicycles have to be provided in every corner of the town for citizens to take them and ride to a particular destination. In summary, cities filled with transport owe to modernised towns and old villages and a desire to have a personal vehicle. However, these problems can be dealt with if a government pays attention to the development of rural areas and provide towns with a large number of bicycles.