In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres and malls to do their shopping Do you think this development is positive?

The migration to cities is progressively increasing. Many local shops have been put out of business as a result of this, as many people prefer to shop in malls and bigger shopping centres. In my opinion, although this development has so many advantages, there are just as many drawbacks which will be discussed in this essay. First and foremost, larger malls have a ton of varieties of items that different individuals can choose from. Buying things is easier as items are arranged on shelves based on their use and labelled according. Also, the activities in these places are more coordinated because a manager/ supervisor oversees the actions of the workers. For instance, Shoprite, which is one of the biggest shopping complexes in the city of Lagos, has people from smaller cities such as Abeokuta and Ibadan travelling down to Lagos just to purchase an item. However, a consequence of this behaviour is that it forces small businesses to close down. Local shop owners who cannot compete with the larger shops do not have a plethora of options. Furthermore, small business owners who sell only rare and unique artefacts go bankrupt as they have no option but to sell to the bigger dogs. For example, a small scale farmer who sells his small piece of land where he grows cotton to a company that produces rice. To summarize, I believe there should be a balance between what the big markets should have in stock and what the locals are allowed to sell. The government should put in place regulations in order to prevent monopoly of sales by only people who have the finances to set up on a large scale. Both parties would greatly benefit and it would make the society a much better place.