Governments should not have to provide care or financial support for elderly people because it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that government should not provide monetary benefits to the elderly citizens because it is the duty of every citizen to be ready for retirement and support themselves. Be that as it may, my opinion stands opposed to this idea because neglecting aged people in any way is downright unhumanitarian. Its true that every person must take steps years in advance in order to secure their future after retirement rather than expecting the government to take care of their expenses. For instance, a working individual can always opt for a suitable pension scheme and save a part of their monthly income towards their pension account which can be withdrawn with interest only when they are retired. Therefore, these actions when initiated well in advance yield great benefits in terms of financial security for an elderly individual without relying on government to cover their expenses. Nevertheless, it is of my opinion that the government should act humanely towards elderly people who cannot support themselves. Some people are unable to plan for retirement due to their existing circumstances. For example, there are many under-privileged people who are financially incapable due to less income and therefore rely on government institutions to provide care and financial support when they are aged. Therefore, government must provide free care and support to those elderly folks whose need it the most for they are also the part of the country and should not be neglected whatsoever. In conclusion, government should provide care and monetary support to those elderly people who deserve the most rather than spending on those who are capable of taking care of themselves post retirement.