Some think students must travel to a foreign country in order to learn it's language and customs. Do you agree/disagree?

Learning another language and culture is difficult to say the least. Some people believe that travelling to a foreign country is quite critical to learn its customs and language. However, I believe that this solution is not practical and there is another better mean. First of all, learning these topics requires enough time. For a language to be taught and a culture to be understood deeply, one should at least spend more than two years in that country. For example, for a student who has only three summer months free, travelling to another place does not contribute to learning these subjects. Besides that, the ones who have more time to spend there or immigrate to another country have to learn their culture and be able to speak in that language in a far shorter time to manage their living. Thus, this solution is not functional because either students can not stay for appropriate time or they need to learn quicker than the time this means takes. Moreover, technology has brought various opportunities for students to teach language and cultures. One can take the example of well-known applications like Duolingo that has helped many people to learn millions of different languages in a brief time. Added to this are the applications like Instagram and Facebook where people from around the world even small villages are destributing their customs online. Therefore, by spending a couple of hours online exploring this available information, one can learn these topics based on their time and pace. To sum up, Travelling to other countries with the purpose of learning a new language and culture is not as practical as it seems due to the time it needs to reach these goals. In my opinion, the available online resources are more useful.