In the future, there will be a higher proportion of older people than younger people in many countries. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is evident that the majority of many nations’ population will be the elderly in the years to come. This essay discusses the reasons behind this trend and why I believe in my opinion, this is a negative development. There are two main reasons for this demographic shift in many countries. The major force is the advancement in medical science. More specifically, due to this progress, many ailments, which were incurable in the past, are now curable which were incurable in the past. Moreover, people can take preventive measures, such as vaccines, in order to stay safe from deadly diseases like cholera. As a result, the average human lifespan has increased significantly. On top of that, the rise in living expenses is also vital in this regard. This is because when the living cost is too high, young couples become more inclined to adopt birth control with a view to keeping their family size small, so they can ensure better life for their offspring. On the whole I believe this is a negative development. First and foremost, this will have a detrimental effect on the national economy. To elaborate, when a nation’s population is dominated by older generations, the country will have fewer physically fit and active people. This means that the national workforce will shrink and there will be a less economically active population. Additionally, senior citizens will increase government expenditure. This is largely due to them being unemployed and are highly likely to depend on governments social safety programs. In conclusion,an advanced healthcare system and rising living cost are the main driving forces behind the dominance of an ageing population. From my perspective, this should be perceived as an unfavourable development as not only will it slow down the economic growth but the elderly will also drain the economy.