some countries have spent a large amount of money on bicycles. Why has this happened? Is it the best way to solve traffic problems?

Bicycle is a totally sustainable means of transport in today's world. It is said that some countries have invested heavily in such forms of transport. This essay will discuss the reasons of spending a sizable amount of money on bicycle. In my opinion, although it is a fruitful solution in order to address traffic problems, it is not the best measures. There are two main causes for investing in the bicycle industry. Firstly, the environment will be positively affected by the use of bicycle. Since most people can benefit from cycling instead of private cars, fossil fuels consumption is more likely to reduce, which can ultimately prevent aggravating air pollution. If people had used more bicycle, we would not have witnessed the air pollution. Secondly, when the majority of people are more willig to take advantage of bicycles in daily life such as going to work, they are able to burn off some calories and get physical activities so as to avoid a sedentary lifestyle. Despite the above significant effects of using bicycle, increased investment in the public transportation would be the best solution in order to tackle traffic jam. That is, when public transport is upgraded, city dwellers will be less inclined to use private cars. In other words, not only dies it encourage people to use public transportation, but also relieves road congestion. Take as an example a country that has an efficient public transport. The more the number of train users increases, the more traffic congestion will probably reduce effeciently. This, in turn, will limit traffic jam at peak hours. In conclusion, less air pollution and improving the level of health can be motives for some countries to spend money cycling. However, cycling may not be the best measure that governments have taken to remedy traffic jam.