Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

There has been a controversial debate about the solution to the increasing household waste in recent years. Most people agree to recycle them, and I fully support that the governments should make it a legal requirement. However, some people believe laws are not needed for waste recycling. On the one hand, the action of recycling heavily depends on the awareness of the people, and the matter of being educated is necessary for this circumstance. For example, people who usually recycle were taught about the value of surrounding materials and the current alarming shortage in nature at an early age, hence, they are well equipped with the importance of recycling. As a result, the law applicable would be too strict for those who do not have knowledge about the classification of waste and what needs recycling. Nextly, many people, nowadays, have to deal with a huge workload, thus, recycling is not on their list, and also, they do not have time for it. Such people usually have a busy working and private life, if they do a nine-to-five job and need to take care of their own families after working hours, so they hardly have time for extra things. On the other hand, I think recycling is a small action with a big meaning and anyone who can not fulfill it partly due to their laziness. Actually, its happening is very common, for instance, many families store their household waste in one bin or bag, simply because the classification of recyclable and non-recyclable things takes too much of their time while it is not an interesting or entertaining activity. Consequently, being a legal requirement would act as a deterrence making people stop taking recycling for granted. Furthermore, that recycling solves the lack of materials is also a key reason explaining why the weight of the law should be imposed. A typical example is that there are many things that can be reused or recycled for another kind of use, this action would save money for household families, as well as, reduce the environmental pollution as there is a considerable number of non-recyclable trash being thrown in the environment every day. In conclusion, I believe that the governments need to take action to make recycling a legal requirement. As it plays a remarkable role in improving human life, and environmental conditions too.