Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic.What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Nowadays it's becoming more and more popular to choose unusual places for tourism like deserts and cold areas of the Antarctic. Tourists are tired of famous European cities and they are looking for extraordinary places to visit. In this essay, we will discuss the possible advantages and disadvantages of travelling to such distant zones. Firstly, one of the benefits of choosing rural areas is to widen cultural and social horizons. It rises an understanding of the complicated life conditions of inhabitants compared to the prosperity of famous big cities. For example, visiting African countries shows us that the lack of natural resources is more visible there than in Europe or America, it teaches people the necessity of estimating and saving fossil fuels. Another aspect is that it creates many charity opportunities all over the globe. Travellers can see that they had better spend their money on appropriate funding than buy some luxury items. For instance, the popularity of funds for Africa is increasing among celebrities yearly. It results in the awareness that there can be an evident connection with future generations. However, there are some disadvantages to that kind of journey. Climatic conditions can be severe in certain countries, some people are not ready for them and it may cause fatal consequences. Taking Arctic regions as an example, freezing cold causes frostbite while breathing, and hypothermia in contact with water. Secondly, the epidemics and dangerous diseases that are widespread in third world countries may influence badly on the immune system. A lot of doctors, sent to destabilize the epidemic situation in the African region, die of ruthless illnesses. In conclusion, there are many positive and negative aspects of choosing these countries for tourism. Nevertheless, it is a personal concern and voluntary decision to prefer safe places to troubled ones.