Transport delays and long journey times are a widespread phenomenon in many cities today. What are the causes of this problem and how could the situation be improved

Although transport plays a pivotal role in everyone's life, the amount of time we spend on roads is creating havoc in our life too. This essay will state some issues related to the scenario and the solutions to improve the same. Talking about the causes of transport delays, there are two significant problems which we are dealing with today. One of them is overcrowding of roads, with increasing population, it is becoming more difficult for people to cope with the increasing number of cars on roads as citizens prefer to travel by their private vehicles. For example, in a decade, there has been an increasing number of private cars in UAE which in turn harming the transport system to a great extent. Another reason is bad weather conditions. Sometimes things get delayed due to heavy rains. Furthermore, stagnant water and pit holes also add to the misery of people. Long queues and traffic jams make it difficult for people to reach home in time. A survey shows 90% of people reach late at home during bad weather. The best cure for these problems is to use the public transport system. For instance, using the metro is not only effective during heavy traffic time but also when the weather is not suitable for a particular day. Even though one has to commute to the station but they can assure to reach their required places within time. In addition, if the government make strict rules regarding using public transport during weekdays for working people, it will not only reduce traffic on roads but also help the government more money from public service. In conclusion, it can be clearly seen that transport delays are common in everyone's life but people can overcome this problem if they think wisely and start using public transport.