Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazine and on billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy goods that they do not really need. What are the positive and negative effects of consumerism?

Companies are said to expend a huge amount of money on promoting their products. These online or printed advertisements in magazines and on billboards spur consumers to make purchases that they actually do not require. This tendency has both positive and devastating effects, which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. On the plus side, the positive impacts of impulse buying are various. To begin with, the more people expend on buying goods in excess of their needs, the more the economy grows. Simply put, not only does it make greater production, but also it can help improve the country's economy. A good illustration of this is purchasing state-of-the-art mobile phones,; if there was were no demand for these high-tech phones, the production would have been low, eventually leading to less economic growth as well as a lower number of jobs. Furthermore, creating a tendency to cutting-edge products, consumerism is more likely to bring about market innovation and creativity. Nevertheless, despite the above positive outcomes, there are two pernicious influences that cannot be ignored. First and foremost, if consumerism continues to rise due to attraction by the irresistible advertisements, the environment will be afflicted. To put it differently, what increasing demand for goods is affected negatively by increasing demand for goods (adversely) is the natural resources of the environment. take water and raw material which has been a prerequisite for the planet as an example,; The environment would be susceptible to destruction due to excessive consumption of these natural resources by the fashion industries to produce clothes. Moreover, addicted to impulsive purchases, a large number of people may simply rob themselves of the sense of satisfaction, which can possibly lead to psychological problems. To conclude, consumerism drives economic growth and boosts innovation while it also has detrimental effects ranging from environmental to mental health problem