Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

In this contemporary world, advancements in shipping and logistics industries have made easy access to foreign food items. According to a few opting for native consumables is not only benefitted to the environment but also to the budget of an individual; I agree with such notion and will discuss why disadvantages of shipped foods outweigh its advantages. On the positive side, consumable products which are speciality of particular nations are available in major supermarkets in foreign countries allowing people to taste and explore the traditional food of that region. For instance, Dates are only cultivated in deserts and mainly exported by the Arab nations. Hence, opportunity can be provided to rest of the world to relish the local fruit of Arabs. On the contrary, importing foods from global territories involve complex supply chain and logistics operations which is responsible for polluting the environment as well as putting the excessive economic burden on buyers. Instead, if consumers prefer locally grown items, it will develop economic opportunities for domestic vendors; moreover, air pollution can be curtailed as it would not require the long-distance transportation. To illustrate, rather than buying American nuts, if Indians start buying dried fruits from domestic sellers then it will contribute in the development of local businesses. Thus, I think people should choose local over global edibles. To conclude, many people prefer to eat items which are produced at other countries. However, along with others, I think it has more drawbacks compared to its pros as imported things are costlier and damaging the nature. I believe that individuals should eat locally grown products so the local economy can boost as well.