The global demand for oil and gas is increasing. Some believe that we should therefore encourage the exploitation of remote areas. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

With increasing population, there has been an increasing demand among people for petrol and gas. While some think using rural areas for more production would be a better idea, others opposed it. This essay will state both the advantages and the disadvantages it offers. Talking about the advantages, we have two important points for this scenario. Firstly, by expanding the excretion process to the countryside, the government will be able to cope with the demand for crude oil. Therefore, people will be able to get the supply within time and that too at reasonable prices. For example, the prices of oil and gas are increasing not only because of a shortage of availability but also due to less supply among citizens. Secondly, due to the increase in the area, employment opportunities will also be generated for people living in the vicinity. Hence, helping them to earn a living. A survey shows, that for over a decade, in UAE there has been an increasing number of jobs for mine workers. Each coin has two sides, and so does it. The negative aspect of exploiting remote areas are not even less. The foremost disadvantage of this is a decrease in the residential area. Occupying more space to fulfil demand will force people to leave their properties. For instance, every year approximately 5% of people in the world have to migrate because they have to abandon their land. Another disadvantage is the ill effects of working in a mine. It not only affects their health to great extent but also decreases of years of living. A report from W.H.O has stated that 90% of workers working underground have less life expectancy. To sum up, although it is inevitable to say that the advantages do outweigh the disadvantages but we cannot neglect the fact that how these workers are working in bad condition, moreover how it is affecting their health even.