In the future there will be a higher proportion of older people than young people in many countries. Is it a positive or negative development?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over the aging population in abundant nations in the upcoming years. Without a shadow of a doubt, this phenomenon has both pros and cons. Nevertheless, I would contend that the benefits of this trend still cannot outweigh its counterparts. On the one hand, there are still several justifications pinning down the advantages of elderly population. When it comes to the traditional culture of a nation, elder people who have a great understanding of it will be the one to pass it on to the descendants. For instance, the recipe of a traditional dish of Vietnam such as Pho, which is cooked in a methodical way and kept the original taste that nowhere can have the exact version, can be handed down from older generation to the next generation to preserve its value. Hence, the elderly play a paramount significant role in society. Despite the positives mentioned above, I believe that the older population has a tremendously negative influence on the growth of a country. The fact that an old generation will decrease the quality of the labour workforce is undeniable. By way of illustration, things that determine the wealth of a country are the skills and physical health of the personnel. The older the citizens are, the lower their qualifications as well as health will be. Therefore, the escalation in the number of senior residents will lead to the downturn in the economy of a state. In conclusion, while I recognise the upsides of having an old generation as the most proportion, I consider it to be a negative development overall.