Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that elderly people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

Some people believe that the tradition of combined families has got more advantages while others opine that neutral families are more meritorious than combined families. This essay will discuss both the views and present the conclusion on my opinion that parents and children living together is more advantageous than living separately. On the one hand, living together makes both parents and children feel more comfortable, secure and satisfied due to the mutual benefits that it can offer. For instance, grandparents can help in many ways such as taking care of grandchildren while parents are away for their work and inculcating discipline, cultural, and traditional aspects to the grandchildren. Similarly, the younger generation can take care of the elders by helping them with their financial aspects and health-related aspects. Therefore, it is strongly seen as a positive point if the grandparents are staying with their children, who can provide abundant love and affection. On the other hand, some parents prefer to live alone to feel more freedom and become independent. For example, there are households where there is a big gap between the older generation and the younger generation which could lead to fights between them due to the differences in their mindsets and incongruence of opinions. In these cases, old parents want to live separately to have peace of mind. Therefore, living separately would work well as long as the parents could live and manage their activities by themselves. In conclusion, grandparents staying together with their children or staying separate has both got merits and demerits as discussed. After the analysis, I would believe that parents can live separate as long as they are independent but they reap more benefits by living with children and grandchildren when they are old enough to need help from younger ones as it would keep them healthy and peaceful.