International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Nowadays, the international tourist industry has brought a multitude of advantages to many places around the world. However, it is suggested that tourism is a modern form of colonialism as it has a destructive impact on the socio-cultural and economic landscape of an area. Personally, there are two sides of a coin that should be taken into consideration. On the one side, it is an undeniable fact that tourism plays an indispensable role in contributing to the economic growth and the development of the community. First and foremost, there are plenty of job opportunities offered to the low or middle-class people. For instance, the majority of local residents in touristic areas make their living thanks to the influx of tourists who spend their money on buying a souvenir,paying a ticket for entering touristic attractions as well as tasting local products or delicacies. Besides that, tourism generates a great income for the government which goes hand in hand with the economic flourishing and prosperity of the country overall. On the other side, it goes without saying that there is no rose without thorns. Nations tend to create numerous problems in our Mother Nature in the pursuit of money. A case in point is the destruction of forests and the cutting of trees in order to build new hotels and tourist sites. Moreover, unfortunately, there are a lot of irresponsible tourists who behave irrationally by littering and ruining historical monuments and picturesque landscapes. Thus, various areas tend to face serious environmental problems and that means that their local citizens end up suffering from severe diseases such as respiratory ones. In conclusion, i firmly believe that touristry has both advantages and disadvantages and that each country experiences the effects of tourism in different ways. For this reason, all the nations should increase the values of ecotourism in order to ensure the harmonical relationship between humans and their surroundings.