Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

In recent years, English has become one of the most important and common languages to be used around the world. Some people argue that it is a threat to the native languages as this subject is gaining impedance over local languages at schools. I believe, although native languages are important English certainly needs to stay in the curriculum for several reasons and this is possible by keeping it in the school curriculum The first and foremost reason for English to stay an important part of the curriculum is that it helps students gain admission into universities abroad for higher education. This is because these days mostly all the medical, engineering, and information technology fields are taught in English, as a result, all the research papers, articles and journals are easy to read and submit for peer-reviews. For example, any latest research in genetics will be available on multiple platforms which students can access and read easily. Similarly, countries occasionally need doctors and nurses from different countries due to emergency shortages. For instance, with the recent pandemic, there was a shortage of medical health professionals in the UK and they wanted individuals to apply for positions from different parts of the world. Thus, if English is not taught as a compulsory subject in schools, various opportunities will be lost. However, some people argue that native languages are taking a back seat at schools and may get lost eventually. This is because more schools are making English mandatory and this is concerning as local languages have a special place in the community and should stay as a part of the school curriculum. For example, all the humanitarians who learn English can relate to their own people because they know the local language. It helps them to connect with local problems and still deliver them worldwide and create a connection. Therefore, it needs to stay a part of the school curriculum and students should continue learning it at home. In addition, the local government should ensure that the students do not pay any tuition fees for learning their native tongue. To sum it up, although it is important to learn English to connect at a global platform, it is also essential to retain local languages, as this helps people to stay connected to their roots and still be able to take advantage of opportunities available globally at a larger scale. Local schools, parents and government can make efforts to keep the native tongue alive by giving incentives to students for learning it.