In cities and towns all over the world the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

In today's world, the transportation system is largely based on automobiles and the country's economy heavily depends on the efficient system to carry people and goods. In this context, the number of vehicles on the roads of cities and towns drastically increased and there is an increasing concern about the traffic in the world. This essay will discuss the reasons behind the current situation and the remedial actions that can be taken to resolve the issue. The primary reason behind the significant increase in the volume of vehicles is the increased affordability of people in cities and towns to buy four-wheelers. For instance, everyone is willing to buy a car and is preferring to commute by car to their work for the sake of convenience. As a result, there is a dramatic spike in the number of cars jamming the roads. Moreover, people in the modern world have become less physically active and prefer to use their personal conveyance to go to nearby places as well. For example, people stopped walking and started to drive their two or four wheelers to go to a nearby market for getting vegetables. There are many solutions that can be adopted to resolve traffic jams. Firstly, administrators can set up some policies around the minimum number of passengers to be commuted per car so that the number of cars used by individuals would decrease. Secondly, policymakers can also impose the even and the odd number of cars to be allowed on alternate days of the week. Thirdly, governments can construct metros that are accessible to all the locations in cities and that are reasonably priced. Finally, individuals should take up the responsibility of not using automobiles for shorter distances and rather use carpooling. To sum up, the voluminous traffic is a huge concern all over the world that is primarily caused by the increased ability of individuals to buy vehicles and it can be remediated by different approaches discussed above in the essay.