The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are advantage and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

Because of the progress of tourism, English has become the main language around the world and there are some who think this is the first step to set it as the global language. the present essay will develop this thesis focus on the positive and negative consequences of establishing one sole language everywhere. Some of the advantages are related to information because some experiments and new theories are explained and spread in only one language. Evidently, it limits the facts for those who do not speak it and must wait for the translation. Besides, having only one language could minimize the boundaries between people and places. For instance, it is lucid that a part of the society does not go overseas to avoid facing a new linguistic challenges and it results in fewer multicultural relationships. On the other hand, the throwbacks are linked with cultural development. The language and culture and with no doubt a dichotomy and they Interdepend, thus, the homogenization will appear to invalidate other perspectives and beliefs. A clear example of this is what happens with the indigens population in La Guajira Colombia, they have their own language and culture and since the government is trying to introduce the Spanish there more individuals are turning on modern lifestyles. In addition, cultures who want to remain their own will suffer segregation and lack of opportunities as happens in Australia with some aboriginals who do not have access to all the local services as the whites. To conclude, although speaking only one language in all the countries would easy the method to obtain and manage information by opening doors to other cities, the impact on our traditions is more important and unrepairable in case of damage. Hence, as a contribution keeping our roots alive and feeding the diversity I consider it is always better to maintain the multiple languages that we all have.