Some people believe that machine translation is very advanced, children do not have to learn a foreign language from primary school. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The discussion of whether children should not be required to learn a foreign language from primary school since the development of machine translation is of great concern to people, especially parents. To be honest, I am convinced that it is not a sensible idea to stop children from learning a foreign language from primary school. I believed that what is more important is not learning’s own sake, but the process of acquiring knowledge. Firstly, primary education plays a significant role in kindling children’s interests, and language is a sector that children need to know about. In fact, there are many graduates who work in language -related areas, such as translators, and language teachers. Secondly, to grasp a foreign language, students are forced to memorise a wide range of information, which assists to increase their memorization abilities. Finally, because of the necessity of commanding a serious of grammar, the learning process positively contributes to individuals’ analysis abilities. Apart from what is concerned about before, I argue that relying on machines too much is not an appropriate social phenomenon. I accept that the learning process is demanding, but it is rewarding. In such globalized background, it is common that we have a business or personal connections with foreigners in people’s daily life. Accordingly, using a machine all the time is not convenient. Besides that, machines may lead to misunderstanding. Since the meaning of sentences is connected with the specific situation, machine is not wise enough to distinguish that. In conclusion, Though I accept that a translator may lend us a hand in some way, learning a foreign language is much more helpful, particularly for students studying in grade schools.