Some people think that the government should strictly control the supply of fresh water, as it is a limited resource., while others it should not be regulated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is hard to deny that the waste of freshwater is a common phenomenon worldwide, at the same time many people in poverty suffer from the leakage of water, such a fact leads to the arbitrary proposal that we should let the government control freshwater supplement rigidly. However, such a statement is nothing but a specious fallacy, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as developmental demands, individual contingency plans and feasibility are concerned, I strongly hold that the usage of freshwater should not be controlled by the government. First and foremost, freshwater can be important for industrial development, as increasing the difficulty in freshwater usage hinders the improvement speed of productivity. The demand amount of water of each industry varies from their production routines, sometimes the requirement for water can alter largely when doing new research, innovations or facing accidents. For instance, nuclear power industries often require lots of water for cooling their equipment, the leakage of freshwater could cause dangerous exploding and its related awful outcomes, which strongly pollute the environment and contribute to the abundance of the industry and influenced areas. Furthermore, the fact that water can save lives sometimes indicates that citizens might need to adjust their water consumption according to some emergency situations. To be more specific, fire conflagration, natural disasters and sudden wars are all emergency situations that require a higher capability of both water supplement and water storage comparing to daily life, which are essential for people to survive these cruel and unpredictable circumstances. If the proposal of controlling freshwater was published, citizens could lose their lives because a lot more water beyond the control line is needed for the purpose of putting out a fire. These kinds of situations should be avoided by refusing such an arbitrary proposal. Admittedly, some countries suffer from freshwater insufficiency, which brings about people who support the proposal that authorities of some countries should stop the waste of water by imposing rules in their places in order to help regions lacking freshwater. However, the main problem of this proposal is the poor feasibility of transporting enough water to other countries. To be more specific, the water resources in one place largely depend on geographical facts like latitude, amount and height of mountains and the strength of sunlight. Therefore, countries with sufficient water resources are always far from countries with insufficient water. For example, most countries with poor amounts of precipitation are located in Africa, so it remains a problem to transfer enough water to these regions. Instead of these kinds of approaches, solutions like aiding nations in Africa with water purification devices and encouraging migrations for humanitarian purposes might be more helpful.