In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of this phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

Sports are one of the best entertainment mediums in the world. These days, sportsmen are encouraged through heavy monetary awards which are causing them to use inappropriate ways to boost their performance. This essay would elucidate some of the reasons and also highlight some of the possible solutions to avoid athletes venture into this. Firstly, there is a significant increase in the competition across many professional sports that is building psychological pressure on the participants to follow unjustified means to win the sport. Secondly, winners are presented with a heavy amount of reward and fame that they are attracted to perform well at any cost. Finally, participants, who are exceptional in their performance, are given an opportunity to take part in advertisements by which they can earn huge money and retire early. For instance, cricket legends like Dhoni are seen in every advertisement that comes during IPL matches. Due to these reasons, sportsmen or women are not hesitating to use banned substances. There are some possible solutions to avoid athletes from using substances that can artificially boost their performance. Firstly, there should be heavy penalties and a ban from participation in case they are found positive in the tests conducted to determine drug usage. For example, if a participant in the running of Olympics games used any drug, he or she should be banned for the rest of the Olympics in future. In addition, these people should be trained not only in the playing of the game but also in the ethical practices to be followed which boosts their morale to win the game in a more professional way. In summary, to achieve high accolades and huge money, some athletes in professional sports are using the wrong approaches to win the game. While there are tests that determine participants on these substances, punishment and ethical training can be applied to resolve the issue at the root level.