The food travels thousand of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think that it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate local produced food. What extent do the advantages outweigh disadvantages ?

Since the advent of aviation, food travel has become the common phenomenon. However, it is suggested that local food ought to be opted in order to safegaurd the environment and to benefit the farmers. Admittedly, individual can enjoy the variety of food items. Nonetheless, imported food impinges on biosphere and on the economy of a nation incredibly. On the one hand, importing needed food items from the other nation is highly beneficial, consumer can have variety of food items on their dinning table which can only be possible thanks to the importation of food. To add to it, land of certain countries is not fertile relatively to others which may further yield to the scarcity of necessary food. To cite an example, Arabian countries are unable to fulfill the demand of food owing to non fertile soil. Therefore it is inevitable that dependence on food travel has become the need of the hour for many nations. On the other hand, buying food from the other countries is extremely detrimental for environment. Firstly, transportation mode, range from lorries to aeroplane are needed to provide such kind of food items to the every corner of the world. Consequently, exorbitant amount of fossil fuel is consumed, which further leads to the depletation of our environment. Secondly, consumer have to pay extra cost, included into the price since these food items are taxed by statutory bodies while travelling, in that case local food items can be cheaper and healthier. To conclude, food travelling internationally is beneficial for the consumers though serious repercussions caused by food travel cannot be ingnored.