Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

There are many artificial, unhealthy sugar included in the processed food and drink. This might lead to numerous health issues and thus, products with artificial sweeteners are sold in a high cost. I personally agree that sugary products should be expensive. To start with, children are now being exposed to products that are sweet such as candy, energy drink, or soda. These products are generally affordable and hence making it easier for children to buy them. Especially if the only options available are food with excessive amount of sweeteners. In that reasons, increasing the price of these brands would likely halt people, especially children, from buying them, making it difficult for children to have access to artificial, unhealthy sugar. With limited to no access to sugar, healthier snacks or beverages are the only options available and children would likely to consume them more due to the reduction of the number of sweet products being sold in stores. Additionally, setting high prices to these products would indirectly contribute to obesity prevention. 30% of children in America are obese mainly because of the high consumption of fabricated food and drink and with the limitation of selling, the sugary intake of young children would be minimized. There are also certain benefits generated from this act if the government consider to eliminate the spread of high level sugar products like preventing heart diseases and boosting dental health. Although the distribution of fabricated sugary products might add to certain local stores revenue, profits could be gained from selling healthy, yet appealing food and drink like sushi or milk. To summarize, sugary products with expensive cost sparks more benefits than harm as a way to improve children's health.