Childern have more and more tests and exams to do at school, sometimes starting from the age of five or six right up untill the age of eighteen. What are the advantages and disadvantages if making childern do exams

Nowadays, students starting from age six to eighteen are given exams frequently, either in the form of quizzes, online or paper-based exams. There are abundant pros and cons to the trend stated above. The merits can be that student gets well prepared in advance, on the other hand, this comes with demerits,which can be stress over the physical and mental health of a child. To begin with the positive sides, the regular tests conducted in institutions are helping students in many ways. To illustrate this with an example, the scholar gets well prepared for final exams beforehand. To elaborate, in the past few years examination patterns in schools have been modified, thus, rather than conducting semester or quarterly exams,schools are now scheduling them fortnightly or monthly. This method has turned useful to clearly evaluate the academic achievement of pupils,and they become more vigilant about their weak areas in multiple subjects. So,they prioritise their time and attention according to their need. Consequently, they become well prepared for final exams in advance which assists them to achieve good results. On the contrary,, currently various academic subjects have been introduced in the syllabus, to prepare for all of them becomes stressful for a child because it takes a lot of hours to study. Due to this students feel themself behind and get disconnected from other social and physical activities. This results in a lack of soft skills, and other health issues as well. For instance, a child sitting on a chair straight for six hours can crucially strain their physical and mental health. In conclusion, although there are many benefits of introducing recurring exams, this method is helping school-going adolescent prepare for exams in advance, but it is taking students away from everyday life activities that are necessary for the holistic development of a minor. However, the negative impact can be diminished by adding various co-curricular activities in the curriculum that compels children toward physical activities.