Some parents are worried about the increasing level of violence in TV, videos games & other types of entertainment for children's leisure. How does this affect children? how do you think problem can be tackled?

The level of violence portrayed in various sources of children's leisure has become alarming to many parents. It is because of the several negative impacts that this genre has on the little ones, especially, when they are exposed to it at an impressionable age. However, this problem can be managed to a great extent if caregivers actively take some measures. There are multiple ways in which the depiction of violence can interfere with the general behaviour and thinking patterns of the youth. Firstly, children can turn out to be more aggressive in nature and their thoughts could become more cynical. For example, instead of talking through a disagreement or finding an amicable solution to a minor problem, kids might choose to get into a fistfight to sort out the matter. Sometimes young children will want to experiment or replicate what they saw on the television or in a movie and engage in a dangerous act putting themselves and other kids in potential danger. There have been instances in which small children got into accidents trying to play with guns or knives. Lastly, crime and violence thwart creativity in children. Instead of encouraging children to use their imagination for creating something beautiful and strive for peace, it will instead do the opposite. However, this issue can be tackled by a collective effort from the parents of young children. If there is a lack of demand then the supply will reduce and eventually stop. So if people stop buying or subscribing to these types of leisure, then the makers behind them will have no option but to stop. Parents must also carefully screen the entertainment options they choose for their children. There are so many entertainment options nowadays that promote creativity and learning in a positive way. Introducing these will help children to gravitate more toward positive nurturing content for fun and leisure. To conclude, violence has become a major part of most children's entertainment programmes and this has a negative impact on them. The good news is that there are ways in which caregivers can control this and help kids to opt for other productive entertainment options.