The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are advantage and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

Because of the progress of tourism English has become the main language around the world and there are some who think this is a first step to set it as the global language. this essay will develop this thesis focus on the positive and negative consequences of stablishing one sole language everywhere. Some of the advantages are related to information, because some experiments and new theories are explained and spread in only one language, the one the scientist speaks. Evidently, it limits the facts for those who do not speak it and must wait for the translation. Besides, having only one language could minimize the boundaries between people and places. For instance, it is lucid that a part of the society does not go overseas to avoid face Change the form of the verb facing show examples a new language and it results on less multicultural relationships. On the other hand, the throwbacks are linked with the cultural development. The language and culture and with no doubt a dichotomy and one depends on the other, thus if we have only one language the homogenization will appear invalidating other perspectives and believes. A clear example of this is what happens with indigenes indigens population in La Guajira Colombia, they have their own language and culture and since the government is trying to introduce the Spanish there more individuals are turning on modern lifestyles. In addition, cultures who want to remain their language independently will suffer segregation and lack of opportunities as it happens in Australia with some of the aboriginal whom do not have access to all the local services as the whites. To conclude, although speak only one language in all the countries would easy the method to obtain and manage information opening doors to other cities, the impact on our traditions is more important and unrepairable in case of damage. Hence, as a contribution to keep our roots alive and feed the diversity I consider it is always better to maintain the multiple languages that we all have.