Some people believe that teaching music in schools is a vital part of growing up and the human experience, whilst others believe that teaching music in schools is a waste of time and resources. Discuss both these views and

There are split opinions about teaching informal subjects such as music in schools. Some people believe that it should be taught in academic institutions as it is an essential component of growth and better human exposure for students whereas, others opine that it would be a complete waste of time and resources. In this essay, I shall discuss both perspectives and give my own point of view. To commence with, the former view suggests that music is important to teach at schools. Firstly, it has been considered as an extracurricular activity which will bring a myriad of advantages for pupils. To elaborate on this, it has been observed that in many places along with formal studies musical classes are being conducted by teachers because it will help students to relieve the unnecessary stress from their minds. Musical beats not only relax the brain but also improve the mind and body correlation. It affects some regions of the brain which produce the hormones in the body which provide a sense of euphoria. For an instance, in the research held at the University of Oxford in 2000, it is proved that school-going children who attended the music classes were likely to be happier and burden-free as compared to normal students by examining their activities. However, some others argue that teaching music in schools can lead to wasting precious time and resources. The foremost argument is, that it can affect the study of other core subjects such as science, maths, and history which play an essential role in learners' lives. This is to state that, in recent days, the demand for science is increasing tremendously therefore more focus should be on imparting knowledge about environment and biology chapters as compared to arts and music. As it helps students to get admission in the desired course and find better employment in future. For example, in the DPS school, a major concentration on the formal subjects owing to their importance. In my opinion, i believe that only a few hours would be devoted to imbibing information about musicality via conducting some programs or events notwithstanding the main target of faculties would provide standard knowledge about components associated with science and technology.