Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Living abroad is not a new thing for the people around the world in this day and age. Life as an expat living oversea, however, isn't always easy. Being an expatriate at a foreign country which has different culture and speaks different language, may sometimes have to face some difficulties. However, this essay will argue that staying abroad can totally make someone stronger and improve self confidence in spite of having social and practical problems in some circumstances. Abality to exchange conversation in foreign language is crucial for one who will be living in foreign soecity. When an expat is incapable to communicate fluently in foreign land, it could lead to any kind of miscommunication which may sometimes create serious social and practical problems. For example, an English man visiting to China who is unable to speak and understand Chinese very well, might take the photo of Chinese government building where photography is banned without knowing the meaning of the warning signpost in front of the building and as a consequence, he might end up as a criminal at a forieign land. Therefore, fluent communication and understanding different culture is viral important for the people who are staying among foreign communities in order to survive at foreign country. Otherwise, language barrier can sometimes result severe problems. On the other hand, living oversea helps the people improve problem solving skills as well as social skills. At a foreign country, finding the living place, making own foods, managing time for daily schedules are no longer helped by the parents and the family. As a result, they have to handle everything by their own which make them gain self confidence. Furthermore, by staying abroad, people begin to realize that social bonding with friends and neighbourhood is important for overcoming the difficulties. Difficulties and struggles always make the people stronger and more mature. As an example, myself as an expat living in Singapore, while being away from my parents, I make my own meals, manage to find my own living place, built friendships and strong bond with foreig colleagues. After some times, I have become independent and acquired self confidence. Therefore, it is inarguable that staying at foreign country has many personal adventages. This essay argued that residing in oversea country where one has to speak foreign language can cause different problems socially and practically in some circumstances because of weak communication skills. However, in my opinion, I strongly believe that living in a foreign country brings more positive improvements to a person becasue we don't know what are our hidden abilities and capabality until we stand on our own feet.