Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that parents are the best people to inculcate moral values in their children and make them good human beings in life as they spend around two-thirds of a day with them, whereas others feel that the educational institution is the ideal place to learn these values. In my view, both educators and parents have an equal role in teaching moral values and creating civilized human beings. Parents are the ones who have given birth to their children. They not only know them well but also spend around 70% of their daily time with them. Moreover, parents are treated as role models to their children and whatever they do in life, their children tend to imitate it. This has been noticed many times. If we respect our elders, then only our children will respect us in the future. Similarly, to make adolescents good human beings, we have to become one. I feel values cannot be taught in school, but they can be instilled through the behaviour of parents. Let us consider the role of educational bodies now. Toddlers can learn easily in a school as they are accompanied by individuals of the same age group. They start eating on their own easily when they see other children having their food. They have to share toys in the crèche with each other, and they even start enjoying it. School not only teaches the habit of sharing things but also the habit of caring for others. For example, a study revealed that in a kindergarten in the USA, a group of 5 children started sharing their toys with each other within a week of joining. To conclude, while parents can teach their offspring how to behave with others, schools can teach other prominent values. Therefore, in my opinion, both of these are needed to transform a child into a civilized citizen.