Competitiveness is considered to be a positive quality among people. How does competitiveness affect individuals? Is competitiveness a positive or negative qualities?

People live in groups. While living in groups, it is important that we take advantage of the right resource for the right work. Finding the most suitable person pushes the need for people to compete with each other to prove that they are the best. In this essay, I would like to write about the need to have a healthy competition and how it inculcates positivity among the competing individuals. The intent of the competition is simple. Ensuring a way to measure the performance of many to pick the most performant. The competing individuals or teams are incentivised for improving their skills. Highly motivated people start preparing and dedicate a significant amount of time not just to learn but to excel. Other than the incentive of winning the prize, several people like being noticed and respected for their abilities. Sportsmanship is another important aspect of competition. For example, athletes at the Olympics prepare for four years to finally participate in the event. People who lose do not get disheartened, they come back after another four years to the event with an unbroken spirit. Time and again, we see aspects of competition that are not healthy. The attempts to sabotage a winning candidate's efforts, trying to rig the race by illegal means, and utilizing banned substances to enhance their chances are examples of how some respond to a demanding examination. Some suffer mental anxiety that further deteriorates their chances to win. For instance, Serena Williams who was at the top of her game, went on to lose the match after losing her temper due to a wrong call from one of the line umpires. Competing has a good impact on people, they become mentally strong, learn to excel in their skills, and become highly motivated. These are the most important skills that are needed for leading a successful life. While there are some negatives like resorting to illegal means to win, the positives outweigh those.