In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Nowadays among the richest countries in the world can be observed that the population is living longer than before. However this situation for the vast majority can be seen as a positive development, it is causing a variety of problems in the modern world. In this essay, I will expose some of the main issues caused by the increased average life expectancy and suggest some solutions that can reduce the negative impact. Back in the past, people used to live an average of 50 years due to a lack of knowledge about diseases and treatment, long working hours, and an unhealthy lifestyle. The big developments in healthcare, technology, and socialwalfe have had an important impact on our years of life over the last few decades. However, this advancement has brought into our society negative effects such as a pension system crisis. One of the biggest problems is that the system that our states are using nowadays was designed for a society that does not exist anymore, it was based on the principle that humans just live for some decades, not for humans who can live until their 80s. Consequently, the pensions have to be paid longer leading to an economic crash. One possible solution to this would be to increase the age to retire, we should work more years to be able to retire. Another issue to be considered is regarding family, old people do not always live their last years with good health conditions. The vast majority suffer from a lot of diseases such as diabetes and obesity and require support from their family members. Although families usually help their elders during this hard and difficult time, a lot of them finish their last years without any assistance. One immediate practical solution is to implement effective initiatives to support the vulnerable for instance creating public nursing homes with health workers and organizing communities groups to visit the elders who live on their own. In conclusion, even though the increase in average life expectancy in wealthy countries is a positive development, it is causing some crises in different aspects. Individuals and governments should find solutions to tackle these problems.