Nowadays,many people choose to be self-employed, than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self employed?

Most contemporary economies allow such a model of employment as being self-employed, which appears very tempting for many. Still the vast majority of folks, however, opt for being employed in a company and not to set up their own business. This essay will attempt to look into the key factors as to why people may prefer entrepreneurship and major drawbacks to it. To start with the main advantage in many modern societies, including Russian, entrepreneurship is greatly encouraged with lots of business seminars and workshops advertised along with financial support. These may range from slightly fraudulent to genuinely educational and supportive, and generally any information on setting up a company is easily accessible for those who are willing. And willing they are, as being a business person, the image itself has a certain feel of luxury, respectability and success. People are being told that they have no limits and can easily become as wealthy as a Steve Jobs if they wish to. This first reason is linked to the second, which is relevant for Russia and some other countries. Bank loans are accessible too, and they are largely eagerly granted. If a future business person truly knows their business, it poses no threat. Despite the advantages, although easy access to setting up a company is tending, for someone inexperienced or insensible may cause a range of problems. Apparently, the first issue that may perplex an unskilled entrepreneur is the necessity to be a jack of all trades (if the company is very small). Having taken the responsibilities of, for instance, an accountant, PR or HR manager at the same time can be a burden and make the person wish they had never done it at all. If they hire other people to perform these tasks, they must pay more tax and provide their employees with decent working conditions. At the same time, business is usually a risky matter and in our competitive reality many of them go bankrupt. And last, but not least, self-employed people are the only people responsible for their own vacations, sick or maternity leaves or any job perks. In a nutshell, being your own master is greatly encouraged by goenrments through several types of support yet it may have many downsides, and that is why many people decide to play it safe.