Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

The main reason why more and more individuals are persuaded to purchase big-stores goods is promotional marketing. How big corporations rely on significant economical resources to support their budgeting has relevant consequences for the customer. I shall discuss which concerns might be the most reasonable, and which solutions have to be identified by supporting local businesses. Firstly, extensive budgets designed for promotion and marketing would realistically decrease the chances of buying local fresh produce. In other words, big box stores are daily stocked up with international products, which are not always available within a reasonable distance. Therefore, long trips are necessary to stock them up, thus leading to rising costs of gas, transportation and packaging. Moreover, if the vast majority of these organic products have to be preserved within truck containers, fertilizers will be mostly needed beforehand to preserve their freshness. In addition, a recent study has found that the rising levels of Co2 are massively linked to how buying local would positively affect fighting climate change. It is also helpful to highlight how raising awareness about such a phenomenon might be the first step towards a solution. Developing new social media campaigns about the benefits of buying local could directly and positively affect youngsters. I do believe that by allowing young people to become brand ambassadors of such movements, there would be higher chances to cut the distribution costs as well as the unnecessary production of fertilizers. For example, a monthly social media campaign would be beneficial to remind families about how to shop locally by selecting fresh produce available at the nearby farming shop. It is no doubt true that by genuinely supporting local shops, we could be well ahead of nurturing our landfills from exhausts and fumes released by foreign grocery trucks. In conclusion, by boosting awareness about the benefits of purchasing local products through media platforms and weekly visits to the close-by farming shop, we would be equipped to overcome bib box stores' propaganda and its negative effects.