Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Across the world, there have always been cases of reporting crimes in the media that could never escape one's attention. Some believe that the crime rate can be decreased by imposing lengthy imprisonment while others believe that it can be helped by using different means. In my opinion, we need to choose the solution based on the severity of the crime which I shall be discussing in the below paragraphs. In countries with poor economic backgrounds or underdeveloped sections of society, there are always minor offences like pickpocketing and burglary. For instance, in India, people from Bihar who migrate to the other states as labourers are mostly caught up as thieves during the nighttime. To address these, cameras can be installed in various places to track wrongdoings. Moreover, the government can provide a good education to the youngsters of economically backward states to uplift their standards. However, there are other sets of crimes which demand a stronger punishment as it can provide safety and security to the people of the country. For instance, the bombing of a parliament house or a brutal rape deserves bigger punishments of life long imprisonment to avoid the repetition of that crime or similar ones in the future. Furthermore, countries can use the advances in technology to detect the issues early to avoid greater damage later. For example, she-police teams can be set up to detect the places where eve-teasing is happening or set up the bomb detection security systems to avoid the explosions. In conclusion, there are several ways to address the different types of crimes based on the severity. Even though modern technology can immensely help in preventing and tracking minor crimes, I firmly believe punishing the offenders by severe means like prison sentences would definitely be required to prevent them from happening in the future.