The best curriculum is not one based on a static body of knowledge, but one which teaches students to cope with change. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many would argue that schools today should focus more on adaptability rather than traditional, discrete fields. In my opinion, although there is a strong argument for this contention given the disruptive nature of modern industries, it is nonetheless important to preserve the traditional role of fields in a curriculum. Those who support this reform contend that the skills needed for modern workforces are changing rapidly. Past generations could rely on feilds learned in high school and university, such as those related to accounting, finance, and so on, providing lasting job security. This guarantee is less stable now due to advances in automation specifically and technology generally. At many companies, human workers are being phased out of specific roles and entire jobs and replaced by cheap software. Therefore, schools should teach adaptable methods for handling change that will help them cope with an uncertain future job market. However, traditional fields provide an invaluable base of knowledge for the average student. By learning about core subjects a person becomes more well-rounded intellectually. In high school and,university this likely includes math, literature, the sciences, history, physical education, economics, philosophy, art, and so on. Naturally, most of these subjects will not yield practical skills that are used on a daily basis throughout life and that is the source of many later complaints about school curricula. However, it is impossible to know the final utility of a given skill or piece of information. A good example of this would be the classes that Steve Jobs took about calligraphy in the university which later informed the lasting design of computer interfaces and word processors. In conclusion, despite pragmatic employment concerns, it is essential for students to possess foundational knowledge about multiple disciplines. Moreover, a binary distinction between subject knowledge and flexible skills is not always necessary.