Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the last past thirty years that many cities in the world are now on big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars.

Over the past decades, the number of people using their private cars has known an upward trend, resulting in traffic engorgement in different cities worldwide. It is true that metropolitan cities ' roads are so crowded that reaching a destination can take hours. The responsibility falls on authorities to introduce efficient and alternative means of transport to discourage citizens from using their cars. Firstly, getting a vehicle nowadays is a lot easier than it was in the past, to the point that a household can own more than one car. In other words, everyone now prefers to drive his private car because it's way more convenient than public transportations, but this led to uncontrollable and unprecedented traffic jams, particularly in big cities during rush hours. For instance, an employee commuting to work has to wake up hours earlier to avoid getting stuck on the road. Therefore, people should consider using other means of transport or going in groups using one car. Secondly, the government takes part in what these cities have become, so serious measures should be taken to tackle this problem. To put it differently, the authorities should improve public transportation services and make them more comfortable for people, and ensure the creation of specific tracks, such as bus tracks, so employees or students won't be scared of being late for work or school, the government could also enlarge the underground railway's system. Consequently, the roads will breathe and be less crowded, and even better, tourists or visitors could enjoy their time going around the city. In conclusion, unless efforts are made to tackle the traffic jam problem, it will only rise and get worse. While people tend to drive their cars, the government must provide and introduce new patterns in order to save the cities from bottleneck traffic.