Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement. To what extend do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste ?.

Recycling home waste is a process that needs people’s collaboration along with the government to succeed. However many householders don’t cooperate, thus the recycled amount is still insufficient, so it is suggested to introduce laws that frame this matter. In my view, imposing a law can be efficient to tackle this problem and can make people take recycling seriously. First of all, the success of the recycling process starts from individuals at home, when they separate their garbage into recycled, and non-recycled one, then out to the different bins, after this, comes the role of recycling companies funded by the government. For this reason, it falls on the authorities to introduce a law if needed to ensure the flow of this process and to draw limits for those irresponsible people, that would surely fear getting punished or paying fines or even prison sentences for repetitive offenses. Moreover, recycling wastes is beneficial for our environment, it allows getting rid of some materials that need millions of years to disappear, namely plastic. This is another reason to make recycling a legal requirement. However, punishment is not the only solution, the officials can introduce educational programs to raise awareness among children at schools and through companies among adults. For instance, if the school organizes a journey dedicated to presenting the importance of recycling home waste, youngsters will be engaged in activities so they learn the right way to dispose of garbage. Since today's generation is our hope for a better future, it is a necessity to educate them to be more responsible towards our environment. In conclusion, unless efforts are made by legislators to cut down this problem, it will only escalate. Both individuals and government take responsibility for the recycling process's success.