Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or working a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Different people have various motivations to learn a new language. While some people are promoting the idea that it is only needed when ones want to live or visit another place, others consider learning a language far more important for other means. I am convinced that it is quite critical for people to know the language of a country they want to visit; however, it is not the only important reason. Those who advocate learning language to immigrate or travel to other countries have valid points. They usually take the example of the most basic needs like buying groceries or finding an address which one faces in their lives routinely and are necessary for both tourists and immigrants to know about. As humans can not live without responding to their basic needs, knowing the language is vital. Moreover, almost all careers are involved with communicating with co-workers and customers. For instance, for a person to be able to work in a store, he is expected to be able to talk with customers to sell products. Besides that, the vital thing for getting recruited is to compete with other applicants during job interviews. Therefore, if a person can not speak in the country's main language, their chance to find a job will decrease significantly. Despite the above so-called reason, There are other reasons for learning a foreign language. First of all, language has always been viewed as the main factor to bring people closer. Since the internet provides a platform to widen the circle of aquantances, knowing new languages results in having wider connections, which not only means more friends but also more customers. Consequently, even without going to other countries, to improve a local business to an international one knowing different languages is valuable. Added to this is the medical aspect where studies have shown learning new things is essential for mental health. For example, the best way for preventing Alzeimer's disease is learning a new language. Thus, people can say there are more important rationales behind it. To sum up, one can say a person who goes or works in another country needs to learn their language. Nevertheless, I believe that it is beneficial even for the ones who do not want to immigrate.