In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message.

Some countries greatly value their parenting and teaching moral lessons to their children. Though in a common belief in many cultures, children are encouraged to put in extra effort in order to achieve their desires. Although this could bring some advantages to society, there are some undeniable disadvantages too. Such cultures aim to bring long-term benefits to their children by motivating them to work hard rather than being lazy. People will not achieve their desired goals without putting enough effort into their job or studies. For example, when youngsters are studying for the university entrance exam, which is a one time shot, they must try hard to change their future. Besides, if they fail at a certain point in their life, they won't count it as their disability, in fact, they will have a hope to get succeed later in a second attempt. For instance, if someone fails his test, he will be working even harder for the second time to achieve his goal. On the hand, there will be some noticeable drawbacks to such a culture. Juveniles will develop unrealistic expectations of their work, in other words, they will become perfectionism. Such as those who have been seeking the best, while most of the population are in the mid-tier, but still not reaching it. More importantly, not everyone has the same mental and physical abilities. Consequently, forcing themselves to do something that is far beyond their skills will result in anxiety. Likewise, all youngsters who want to become doctors but do not have the intelligence for it, so they waste their time failing to achieve this goal. In conclusion, by giving juveniles a message to work harder in order to achieve their goals, we are encouraging them to have hope to get successful, however, they may deal with anxiety if they find themselves unable to do something. I hope to see parents all around the globe focus on their child's abilities and improve them rather than giving them common practices of their culture.