In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is the problem. What are the causes of this and what action can be taken to solve this problem.

It is known that owing to the increase in the number of people that owns an automobile. Traffic congestion has become a very challenging factor in some towns and cities. This can be attributed to bad roads, large number of cars on the street,not obeying rules the traffic rules and installing traffic lights. There are various reasons why traffic jam is on the higher side in some locality. Firstly, poor road infrastructure. This is because many pathways have Various portholes which render the car owners not to driving safely and thereby cause traffic jams. Secondly, the usage of private cars widely. To simply put, due to the increase in population, individuals tend to have their personal motors which can cause excess cars on the roads,thereby causing the blockage. Thirdly, entities tend not to be adhering to traffic rules. Due to one reason or the other, everybody wants to move at the same time and in that process it will cause traffic bottleneck. Lastly, in a country where there is no installation of traffic lights, people tend to behave as they like without minding the outcome that it will cause. For example, research carried out among drivers on 16th May 2002, in Anambra state revealed that one of the major causes of road lock was a result of not complying with the traffic rules and this made the government employ the road safety commands. However,there are several remedies that both the government and citizens in the country should do in order to eradicate this problem. Firstly, the government should place a law on the usage of private cars or one family should endeavour to have one wheel. This can help to minimize the rate of motor conveying on the road and will equally promote the public transport system and thereby declining the level of the log jam. Furthermore, Government should equally install traffic control in some strategic points and employ some road safety officers. This is will bring a positive effect because the workers will help the citizens to be controlling the traffic when the need arises. In addition, people should be educated on the importance of obeying traffic rules. Thus this can help to eradicate the rate of traffic congestion. To illustrate,due to the installation of traffic lights at Asaba,research has revealed that the last incidence of traffic congestion occurred in 2004. In conclusion,even though several factors have been identified as the main causes of blockage,there are available solutions such as Reduction of individual cars, installation of caution lights on the street and teaching the citizens about the benefits of adhering to traffic orders