In many countries, people like to eat more food from other regions than can be grown in a local area. As a result, much of the food has to come from other regions. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary era, the import of eatable products is increasing day by day, as due to social media, people are attracted to different types of food items. That's why the demand for international eatable products has increased as compared to local ones. In my opinion, the drawbacks of this trend outweigh the benefits. My view will be further discussed in the following paragraphs with suitable examples. To begin with, there are various negative points. If people prefer to buy foods from other regions, the local food sailors will face financial loss as a result, their food items will either be purchased at a very low cost or ruined. In India, for example, 70% of the population is farmers; therefore, they grow local vegetables that are suitable for that particular region's environment. If people start eating foreign food, then the local farmers will face a huge financial loss. Hence, people should support their local farmers by purchasing more local food items rather than international eatables.  Moving on, it can be seen that some foreign foods are harmful to the health of other people in the local region, and some people may experience allergic reactions as a result of changes in environmental conditions. In simple terms, the majority of people are comfortable with their own native food items, and local foods are most beneficial for people as their bodies can easily digest known products. However, foreign foods can cause health issues. For instance, a report from Oxford University in 2018 stated that Indians nowadays spend more money on buying healthy and expensive fruit items from foreign countries than ever before. However, these products do not suit their bodies and many are diagnosed with allergic reactions, so they advised that the local fruits and vegetables should be used more than internationally grown products. Therefore, these are some disadvantages of this trend.  In conclusion, nowadays people started eating foreign food items, according to,me it is a negative trend as the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.