Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, some cities are applying vehicles-free campaigns to make private transport users as automobiles, lorries and motorbikes drivers to use their public transport systems. With them, it is intented to reduce pollutin produced from these cities. By contrast, these schemes generates dependence of these public transport systems. In my opinion the developed dependence is overwhelmed by the current pollutinal pollution problem. On the one hand, during the first year of COVID-19 pandemic, there were a series of restrictions that reduced the usage of personal vehicles worldwide, resulting in a significative pollution reduciton, being evidence concretely for larger cities. Ignoring the pademic academic circustances, these restrictions showed the possibility of usage alternative mobility options, encouraging new restritions in Madrid and Barcelona, that hardened their mobility restricions. Consequently, 2021 was the less contaminatig contaminated contamination year in the lat decade for the mented cities. on the other hand, restricting mobility towards a public transport scheme could not work for smaller cities with less public transport options. For example, in Murcia, public transport is less accurated and have limitated disponibility, increasing trafic congestion over peak hours, reducing its functionality. Additionally, the mented campaings campaign are only comtemplated contemplate on desely populated urban cores, ingoring towns and contriesides's necessities. In conclusion, these campaings are useful to reduce harming hambiental factores factories as pollutinal ones. Alternatively, it is not possible to apply them in every populated cores, discriminating them and forcing people to use public transport in an unproductive position. I think that even whit these problems, reducing pollution overweight their disadvantages, minding the necessary of being as ecological as possible.