Many people believe that film is a less important art than other forms such as literature and painting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that movies are a less prominent sort of art compared to other ones like poetry and paintings. This essay will discuss to what extent I reckon this belief is incorrect and motion pictures are arguably as important as older types of art. Nevertheless, there are a few aspects of this belief that can be true. To commence with, when comparing films to paintings there are many features to be considered including popularity. In comparison forms of art namely, poetry is significantly less well-known than movies. To illustrate, there are only a number of people who know Pablo Neruda the Latin poet whereas a famous actor like Leonardo DiCaprio is vastly recognized worldwide. Moreover, film production is a billion-dollar industry that strives to entertain people around the globe, whereas arts such as canvas and literature are only appealing to a relatively minor community. In addition, historic depictions in the world are arguably not original and as technology has progressed over the years, sketches have been replaced and no one knows where the original ones actually are; therefore this fact makes films more reliable. On the contrary, other artistic phenomena such as poetry and paintings are more authentic and have the antiquity of centuries. Therefore, they often have a sentimental and fascinating story behind them. To cite an example, the majestic artwork called Mona Lisa created by Leonardo da Vinci was a depiction of the woman he loved and the significance of it is that not only does the facial impression in the painting alter depending on where someone stands, but that sort of innovation was centuries back. In conclusion, despite the few merits of other kinds of art such as painting and literature over films, I believe films are evidently as prominent as other artworks, if not even more.