Studies show that crime rates are lower among those with  educational degrees. Therefore, the best way to reduce the  crime rate is to educate criminals while they are still in prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is clear that it is a higher potential for offenders who have low literacy to commit crimes. Some people argued that prison should provide education for criminals. I agree with the approach and list my reasons. In terms of the reasons why prisoners shouldn’t be deprived of the right to education, education can improve their awareness of laws. Through legal education, they are aware of criminal consequences. It also can reduce the rate of re-offending. For example,if a criminal understands the price of crime, it will have a deterrence effect for them and stop them from transgressing laws again.On top of that, It is easier for them to find jobs when they are released. They can master specific skills by learning and have a chance to turn over a new leaf. For example, offenders can take a self- education examination. They may have chances to get professional qualifications. They might become a cooker, and tailor, and therefore make a living. However, it will overburden the government.The nation needs to invest money in education resources and has no revenue. For example, in China,there are one million criminals and more than 600 jails. If every prisoner is educated, the government has to invest billions in it. It is expensive. In conclusion, whereas the government need to spend a considerable amount of money on education in jails, education can bring benefits to criminals such as getting jobs and knowing the impact of crime. Therefore, I agree with the opinion that prisoners should have a chance to study.